Calvert Hall

9/15/11 – Towson, MD Seniors Nicholas Fleming, Patrick McQuay and Jesse Morrison have been selected as semifinalists in the 2012 National Merit Scholarship Competition and now have the opportunity to continue in the competition for some 8,300 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $34 million that will be offered next spring. About 1.5 million juniors in some 22,000 high schools entered the 2012 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2010 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, which represents less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state.

Matthew Anderson, Daniel Gonzalez, Thomas Gruebl, Curtis Hughey, Kyle Sutton, Connor Way, Benjamin Weise, Alexander Wilson and Daniel Zile were named as Commended Students by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation while Gruebl and Charles Urrutia were honored by the National Hispanic Recognition Program.