Congratulations to Brother Charles Kitson, FSC (CBA ’66), who was among several Christian Academy Brothers alumni inducted into the school’s Hall of Fame at the second annual CBA Hall of Fame Gala on November 21 at Shore Casino in Atlantic Highlands. The CBA Hall of Fame honors those members of the community who best exemplify CBA ideals and who have brought credit and distinction to the Academy.

Currently the Auxiliary Visitor, District of Eastern North America of the Brothers of Christian Schools, Brother Charles has devoted nearly 50 years of service to poor and at-risk young people in New England and Central America, and with Lasallian volunteers worldwide from the Brothers’ Generalate in Rome.

“Besides my family, CBA had the most impact on my life as a young man; both shaped me in ways that have become clearer as I get older,” reflected Brother Charles. “The academic preparation I received was first rate, but CBA was so much more than that. We were encouraged to be men of faith, men who belonged to a very large Lasallian Family, men who were proud of a shared brotherhood, and men who would be called to serve a greater Church and global community.”

Any member of the CBA community may nominate an individual or a team for membership in the Hall of Fame. Nominations are reviewed and final selections made by a committee composed of the CBA president and senior school administrators, Alumni Association president, and representatives from the Board of Trustees.

In addition to Brother Charles, this year’s inductees included alumni from the 1960s to 1990s and who represent a number of fields and areas of expertise and accomplishment:

Bernard Arnella ’75: A stalwart presence at CBA for more than 40 years as a student, alumni volunteer, teacher, coach, and since 2000 as director of maintenance, Arnella is tireless in his dedication to preserving the high caliber of CBA’s campus and facilities.

Robert W. Lutkewitte ’82: The best thrower in CBA track-and-field history, with a still-unbroken record in shot put as well as superlative achievements with the discus and javelin, Lutkewitte is now an accomplished sales and marketing professional, dedicated community volunteer.

Paul H. Molzon ’72: A successful local entrepreneur and long-time pillar of CBA’s Alumni Association, Molzon has served as president, chaired the Alumni Awards program, and coordinated the annual Clambake fundraiser.

Michael L. Quinn ’64: Four decades of leadership in asset management and capital markets, including a succession of senior management roles at Merrill Lynch, from which he retired as vice chairman of global asset management. Lead donor in CBA’s Project 50th capital campaign, funding the school’s new library.

Tony Reali ’96: Sports media personality, writer and television host. He is the anchor of ESPN’s Around the Horn and social media correspondent for ABC’s Good Morning America.

David J. Santamaria ’98: One of the best wrestlers in CBA history, Santamaria is the only Colt never to have lost a dual wrestling meet, and was a four-time district champion and three-time Region 6 Champion.

1977 Colts Baseball Team: Winners of CBA’s first state championship in baseball. Members included: Steven Beyer ’78, Daniel Danish ’77, Alex G. DeSanctis ’77, Daniel J. DiPoalo ’77, William N. Finley ’78, James Gallinaro ’78, John E. Johnson, Jr. ’78, William M. Kurtz ’77, Patrick K. LeMoine ’77, Shawn G. Maloney ’78, Robert K. McAlonie ’77, J. Scott Neuner ’79, Wayne Phipps ’77, Brian A. Reilly ’78, Scott Small ’78, John Smock ’78, Michael Van Nosdall ’78, Thomas T. Warshaw ’77, and David Zapcic ’77.

“We are blessed to have so many alumni, parents and members of the CBA community worthy of induction into the CBA Hall of Fame,” said Brother Frank Byrne ’75, CBA President. “The inductees embody the spirit and commitment CBA hopes to instill in their students and the broader CBA community.”

112414 Hall of Fame Group Photo 1

The 2014 CBA Hall of Fame inductees with President Brother Frank Byrne, FSC ‘75. Left to right: Michael Quinn ’64, Brother Charles Kitson, FSC ’66, Tony Reali ’96, Robert W. Lutkewitte ’82, President Brother Frank Byrne, FSC, ’75, Paul Molzon ’72, Bernard Arnella ’75, and David Santamaria ’98.