Christian Brothers Academy – Syracuse held its annual Scholastic Honors Night at Temple Adath Yeshurun on March 19 to honor students who have exhibited academic excellence. During the evening, students in grades seven through 12 who achieved High Honors and Honors during the first semester of the 2014-2015 academic year, were recognized with certificates of achievement, as parents, faculty and friends applauded their success. Fifty-three new students were inducted into the Brother Adolphus Chapter of the National Honor Society with a candle lighting ceremony outlining the characteristics of NHS members.

This year’s inductees include: Dominick Allen, Michael Assaf, Anthony Basile, Adelaide Buerkle, Nathan Burns, Brennan Carman, Rose Collins, Madison Cook, Thomas Culeton, Kate Derrenbacker, John Dinger, Kiana Ferguson, Cassandra Finkbeiner, Katherine Fletcher, Robert George, David Goodwin, Emily Hanson, William Ierlan, Isabella Jamer, Brendan Keeney, Daniel Kelly, Qinnan Kong, Kathryn LaCasse, Elliott Lawrence, Alexis Luthringer, Mark Lutz, Samuel Martin, Stephen Maser, Alexsandra Mather, Ethan McIntyre, Lauren Milac, Louis Moran, John Mullin, Natalie Nardella, Paige Nicholson, Morh’ese Oben, Thomas O’Connor, Holly O’Shea, Geoffrey Parkes, Clare Pierret, David Polhemus, Anthony Potenza, Alexa Radziewicz, Collin Recore, Nikhil Reddy, Timothy Schmitt, Anna Schug, Cameron Smith, Mitchell Taylor, Jack Toole, Dana Tuohey, Rachel Vercillo and Rosalee Winderl.

Several other special awards highlighted the evening. Daniel O’Connor ’15 and Joshua Popp ’15 were recognized as National Merit Finalists; and Alexander Ball ’15, Thomas Benz ’15, Madeline George ’15, Lillian Harrington ’15, Anna Kambhampaty ’15, Kiersten Kennedy ’15, Hannah Morris ’15, Serena Schmitt ’15 and Ian Smith ’15 were acknowledged as National Merit Commended Students. More than 25 students received awards from various colleges and universities for outstanding achievements.

The General Excellence Awards were presented to two students in each grade for outstanding academic achievement. Honorees were:

* Class of 2015: Joshua Popp; Next in Merit: Daniel O’Connor

* Class of 2016: Brennan Carman; Next in Merit: Geoffrey Parkes

* Class of 2017: Eric Little; Next in Merit: Zachary Popp

* Class of 2018: Grace O’Connor; Next in Merit: Hannah Kang

* Class of 2019: Phylicia Latorre; Next in Merit: Katelyn Wendt

Faculty members Christine Gravelle (World Languages), Eugene Moretti (English), Caryl McGinty (Art) and Laurine Feldmeth (Social Studies) were each recognized for their 25 years of teaching at CBA. The 2014-15 Lasallian Educator of the Year was presented to math teacher Matt Keough.